#### **Awards Chair**

### Qualifications:

The Awards Chair will be a member in good standing who has demonstrated commitment, active service and leadership to the National Space Club, and who is committed to furthering the Club's mission.

## **Expectations:**

- The Awards Chair is responsible for overseeing all aspects of the planning and execution of the Club's annual awards program, ensuring the broadest recognition of significant achievements from across the space enterprise in the areas of research, engineering, education, acquisition and operations.
- In planning the awards program, the Awards Chair is expected to work with the Club's management staff and individual award committee chairpersons (as listed below) to ensure that awards are selected in an efficient, ethical and comprehensive manner that reflects the Club's objectives and goals, furthers its reputation, and provides opportunities for recognition for deserving individuals across the space enterprise.

#### Election:

The Awards Chair is elected bi-annually by the Club's membership.

### Term:

The Awards Chair will serve for a two year term, consistent with the Club's fiscal year, which begins on July 1 of each year.

# Roles and Responsibilities:

- The Awards Chair will create, manage and work closely with the individual award committee chairpersons (as listed below) and the Club's management staff, as well as the Board of Directors, to solicit candidates for recognition by the Club's awards program.
- The Awards Chair will serve on the Goddard Dinner Committee.
- The Awards Chair will oversee the process for the keynote scholarship speaker award, including the selection process, review of speech, coaching and oversight of logistics.
- The awards program currently includes the following awards, each lead by the current committee chairperson:
  - o The Robert H Goddard Memorial Trophy Committee Chair: President
  - o The Keynote Scholarship Committee Chair: Awards Chair
  - o The Goddard Scholarship *Committee Chair: Mr. Jeffery Morrow*
  - o The Eagle Manned Mission Award Committee Chair: Dr Michael Griffin
  - o The NOAA David Johnson Award Committee Chair: Ms. Helen Wood
  - o The Space Educator Award Committee Chair: Dr. Kerry Mark Joels
  - o The NSC Press Award *Committee Chair: Ms. Suzy Sterner*
  - o The NSC Olin Teague Memorial Award Committee Chair: Ms. Diane Cockrell
  - The Dr. Joseph Charyk Award Committee Chair: current National Reconnaissance Office Director
  - o The Astronautics Engineer Award Committee Chair: Mr. Norman Baker
  - o The Nelson P. Jackson Award Committee Chair: Mr. Marc Johansen
  - o The General Bernard Schriever Award Committee Chair: Mr. Pete Trainer

- The Awards Chair will work with the Club's management staff in communicating Awards Program
  planning and execution information in a timely manner to the Board of Directors and the general
  membership.
- The reappointment of each award committee chairperson should occur as outlined in the established Goddard Dinner Management Plan, set forth each year.
- In order to allow for a smooth transition between administrations, before leaving office, the Awards Chair will educate the incoming Awards Chair about duties and tasks needed to assure a well-executed awards program.

# Membership:

The Awards Chair is expected to pay annual dues promptly and to remain a Club member in good standing.

### Removal from Office:

As per the Club by-laws, the Awards Chair can be removed at any time with a majority vote of the Executive Committee.